Despite the excitement I had cultivated toward my London return, upon arrival I was surprised to observe how the initial feeling which overtook me was one of mild disappointment. Being in India for such a long time, I had become accustomed to the hustle and bustle; the buzz which keeps you alert, present and makes you feel alive. In comparison to this, London’s welcome was slightly underwhelming. I suppose the grass is always greener on the other side…

Talking of grass, London’s parks and spring blossoms on the other hand, which are a marvel at this time of year, have been a very welcome sight.

Anyway, I am now busying myself with preparing my PhD plans, the, thus far, fruitless search for funding, and with finding a tiny room in a dodgy area, somewhere far from a tube station, where I can throw away copious amounts of money, which I don’t even have, on ridiculous rent rates, and irritate my highly strung neighbours all day long with the obscure and loud singing exercises I call practice. Such is the life of a musician in London!

Having had a chance to review some of the interviews we collected in India, here is a small but strong snippet of Bhai Kultar Singh, a 12th generation exponent and custodian of a music tradition which dates back to the Gurus’ times, reinforcing the notion of how the majority of Sikh sacred music today is sung in a totally inappropriate style. After all, Bollywood tunes are more dance-worthy than they are meditative or contemplative!

